top of page
  • rotenrena

At a loss for words


The only time I get at a loss for words is when my husband is flirtatious with me. I always blush because I just don't know what to say back.

Today I was at a loss for words. All because I've been reading in the book of James. Specifically, James 1:19-20. All day I've been thinking about these well-known verses. Be Quick to listen, Slow to speak and Slow to anger. I grew up in church and my mother would always repeat this to me as a child. So, I know these verses. I just couldn't stop thinking about those verses though. I finally came to the realization that if I had those verses stuck in my head that they were there for a reason and they were for me. After I came to my senses. God started showing me things. I was talking to another person, and I already had in my mind what I was going to say before this person even stopped talking. I had not listened to a word they said. I just kept thinking about how I would respond instead of just simply listening. I had to hold back my words because they wanted to come out way too quickly. Then I noticed how quickly I became impatient with my kids, and I couldn't keep my mouth shut to even listen to what they were saying. I had to repent. Ask for forgiveness and show my children some grace. To listen better and be patient.

In the best way possible God humbled me in those moments. He showed me my problem, but He never left me alone. Now that I've had time to think about all of this. God reminded me that this is exactly what His word is supposed to do for us. To bring us to repentance and closer to God. This is what it looks like to do what the Bible says.

I want to encourage you today. If you can relate to any of this. Just know that you are not alone. We all have things that we deal with. No one is perfect. Come to God. Come to His word with an open heart for change in your own life. Let Him breathe life into those dark places. Always know that He is walking right beside you as you deal with hard issues in your personal life. He never said it would be easy but He always says that He will be with you.

Let's just take a moment to examine our own hearts. What is God trying to help you with today?


Bible Verse:

'Understand this, my beloved brothers and sisters. Let everyone be quick to hear [be a careful, thoughtful listener], slow to speak [a speaker of carefully chosen words and], slow to anger [patient, reflective, forgiving]; for the [resentful, deep-seated] anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God [that standard of behavior which He requires from us]. ' James 1:19-20


Prayer:

God,

I am sorry for not listening, being quick to speak and impatient with others around me. Help me to be quick to listen, slow to sleep and slow to anger. I can only do these things with you by my side. Thank you for showing me ways that I can apply your word to my life. You are so gracious and kind.

In the name of Jesus

Amen


In Christ,

Cupsofgraces (Rena)


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page